Deuterocanonical Resources

What Are The Apocrypha and Deuterocanonical Books?

In the fourth century Jerome translated the Scriptures in Latin noting the Septuagint had more books than the Hebrew Bible. Jerome labled these books "Apocrypha", which is Greek for "hidden or secret". Jerome included the apocryphal books along with the Second Book of Esdras and The Prayer of Manasseh in his translation, the Vulgate. In 1546, at the Council of Trent, the Catholic Church declared these books canonical with the exception of the books of Esdras and The Prayer of Manasseh, making the Old Testament of the Catholic Bible total forty-six books.

To learn more, checkout our video series about each book of the Aprocrypha.